MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What laptop for engineering arsh231 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 20 06-14-2011 11:44 PM
Laptop processor differences and Laptop opinions **jewel 03** Computers & Tech 42 10-30-2010 03:43 PM
Laptop Questions (Engineering) MiniDragon First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 89 06-06-2010 10:14 PM
first year engineering myInteger Academics 9 06-11-2009 01:23 PM
Laptop for first year? Sync First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 05-02-2008 09:56 AM

Laptop help for 1st year engineering

Old 07-25-2011 at 09:29 AM   #1
mel369

Liked: 1 Time

Laptop help for 1st year engineering
I'm in first year engineering and I just got a macbook pro. I'll need to run windows for some of the programming courses and i know i can do that with either using bootcamp or running a virtual windows desktop. Would it be worth it to run a virtual windows desktop? Because if i only need it for a few assignments than i should be fine with bootcamp right? Also in upper years would it be useful to have? I realize it'll depend on which type of engineering i go into but at the moment i dont know...
Old 07-25-2011 at 10:08 AM   #2
anonanon987
Power Abuser

Liked: 459 Times

According to some people on this website, people in first year Engineering can survive on Desktops which are at McMaster University. So, just running bootcamp should be fine but as for your upper year courses I think it depends on what you specialize in.
Old 07-25-2011 at 10:23 AM   #3
TheBrickWall
Elite Member

Liked: 46 Times

You're best off with boot camp, but a lot of my friends use Parallels too. It's sort of like a Virtual Machine that lets you run Windows 7 / XP directly from your desktop, without having to shut down and re-boot it. Don't bother buying it, torrent it instead

http://www.parallels.com/ca/
Old 07-25-2011 at 10:25 AM   #4
jp1390

Liked: 26 Times