MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Admission Questions (Health & Life Sciences) Damian-F First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 12 09-15-2010 11:29 PM
Health Sciences vs. Arts and Sciences - advice anyone? ktc11 Academics 3 05-19-2010 08:47 PM
Health Sciences Shagana First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 8 05-12-2010 06:49 PM

Life Sciences or Health Science?

Old 06-16-2009 at 07:34 PM   #1
Shagana

Liked: 0 Times

Life Sciences or Health Science?
Hello, I am a high school student and I have a few questions,

-Which course really prepares students for medical school?
-What is the main difference between the two? All I know is that one requires a higher average to get into...
-Which course would you reccomend to someone who is getting low 90s?

...sorry if these have been already asked...
Old 06-16-2009 at 07:40 PM   #2
jhan523
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 604 Times

I don't think low 90s will get you into Health Science unless you have A LOT of extra curriculars. You also have to do the supplimentary application.

Health Science will prepare you more for medical school, but that's all it really does. From what I've heard you can't do much else.

Life Science will allow you to branch off into different programs, from bio to chem to psychology.

Technically all you need to get into medical school is a high average in any program and completion of the required courses for admission. You can get into medschool with a degree in humanities, science, arts, etc.
Old 06-16-2009 at 08:06 PM   #3
aani

Liked: 9 Times

A lot of extracurriculars will not necessarily get you into Health Sci....it's essentially upto your supplementary once you have the cutoff average.