MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Admission in to Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences MacFreak76 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 10 08-24-2010 11:47 AM
Health Sciences vs. Arts and Sciences - advice anyone? ktc11 Academics 3 05-19-2010 08:47 PM
Life Sciences or Health Science? Shagana First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 13 06-17-2009 07:10 PM
Admission into Health Sci Yeah General Discussion 33 05-05-2009 07:28 PM

Admission Questions (Health & Life Sciences)

Old 09-15-2010 at 12:26 PM   #1
Damian-F

Liked: 0 Times

Admission Questions (Health & Life Sciences)
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a Grade 12 student who is hoping to attend McMaster University in Sept. 2011. I was wondering how difficult it would be for me to enter the Health Sciences program or Life Sciences program.

Last year my semester averages were 95% and 93%.

This year the courses I am taking are:
  • Comm Tech
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Advanced Functions
  • Religion
  • English
The two courses I am not taking however are physics and calculus.

Also, any other tips or advice would be much appreciated.
Old 09-15-2010 at 01:00 PM   #2
doug

Liked: 82 Times

I know that the Health Science program is very competitive to get into, whereas Life Science is not as competitive. However, I strongly recommend taking physics and calculus as it can do no harm to help prepare you for both of these programs.

Good luck!
Old 09-15-2010 at 01:03 PM   #3
giftedchick
Elite Member

Liked: 300 Times

take physics and calc. it will make ur life much easier once u get here.

the marks u have seem just fine for life sci... but im not too sure wat teh cut-off for health sci is... usually high
Old 09-15-2010 at 02:36 PM   #4
bloodywarz
Account Disabled by User

Liked: 74 Times