Linguistics 1AA3 and linguistics 2L03 AnnaWM Academics 9 05-11-2011 11:48 PM
Linguistics 2D03 feonateresa 2nd Year Course Reviews 3 12-12-2010 10:32 PM

Linguistics electives

Old 12-10-2011 at 10:19 PM   #1
Angoose
Elite Member

Liked: 121 Times

Linguistics electives
Hey everyone, I'm in second year bio atm, and I was trying to decide on an elective for second term. For now, I have psych 2b03 with Dr. Day, but I'm also kind of interested in linguistics courses. Has anyone taken psych2b03 before and is the workload very heavy? I took both psych1x03/xx3 and ling1a03/aa3, and I'm considering a minor in either of these. I don't really mind if there are assignments, but I kind of want less essays :'(. So I'm wondering if anyone has recommendations for pysch or ling electives? Thanks for any help.
Old 12-11-2011 at 01:26 AM   #2
akikokoyoki
The Welcome Wagon
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 101 Times

Most 2nd year linguistic courses are offered this semester but for 2nd sem, there is Ling 2S03 (Sociolonguistics), 2E03 (Slang to Formal Discourse) and 2PH3 (Phonology). I'm taking these courses next semester so i dont know how these classes run but you should consider taking them. As for Phonology, you need the Phonetics course (2L03) so I don't think you can take it. If you want to take linguistics courses, I recommend 2SY3 (Syntax), 2L03 (Phonetics), 2PS3 (Psycholinguistics) and 2LC3 (Historical Linguistics) but you have to take these next year since these were offered this semester. Most second year long courses just have weekly exercises, a midterm and a final so I recommend any linguistics courses. They are all interesting

Last edited by akikokoyoki : 12-11-2011 at 01:36 AM.
Old 12-11-2011 at 01:45 AM   #3
Angoose
Elite Member