MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Experiences Living Off-Campus? Mepper Off-Campus Housing (SOCS) 29 04-04-2012 09:49 PM
Living expense on campus gggggg General Discussion 2 08-21-2011 08:06 AM
OSAP and Living Off Campus and On Rez MacPack Financial Aid 3 08-16-2010 04:10 PM
Living Off-Campus? Dominique First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 07-04-2008 03:02 PM
living off-campus lorend General Discussion 3 01-07-2008 10:01 AM

Living off-campus disadvantages

Old 07-10-2012 at 05:54 PM   #1
Aaliyah

Liked: 3 Times

Living off-campus disadvantages
Hello. I'm a first year student off-campus student. I was wondering if there are any disadvantages of not living on campus for the first year. :$ Thank you, any information would be greatly appreciated
Old 07-10-2012 at 06:13 PM   #2
apples12

Liked: 91 Times

Are you living at home with your parents or in a student house off campus? How far is the house from Mac?
Old 07-10-2012 at 07:07 PM   #3
Rayine
Elite Member

Liked: 207 Times

It's not as convenient as living at school (you'll have to wake up earlier to make it to 8:30 class) and your internet may not be as amazing.
President, McMaster Undergraduate Society for the Chemical Sciences
Old 07-10-2012 at 08:05 PM   #4
Silver
Elite Member

Liked: 392 Times

you save a ton of money. big advantage there.

Last edited by Silver : 07-10-2012 at 08:25 PM.

Aaliyah, mc_kumar, Zebedee like this.
Old 07-10-2012 at 08:11 PM   #5
nerual
Account Disabled by User

Liked: 345 Times

You won't meet all the people in res. There are other ways to meet people, of course, but it's not quite the same experience.

mc_kumar likes this.
Old 07-10-2012 at 08:27 PM   #6
Alina

Liked: 2 Times

ohh good question! I was wondering the same thing. I'm communting from Mississauga and I fear not living on res was a really big mistake. But i'm trying to convince myself that it wont be as bad as I make it seem right?
Old 07-10-2012 at 08:34 PM   #7