MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double major w/ minor John H Academics 15 12-27-2009 11:00 PM
Switching from Business Minor to Major? potatopotato First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 11-23-2009 07:10 PM
Getting a minor or double major in economics kgill Academics 2 04-11-2009 03:21 PM
Major, Minor... Almurnith First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 13 08-24-2008 01:31 PM
Picking a Major and Minor lorend Academics 37 05-30-2008 04:50 PM

Major in Commerce, Minor in Biology

Old 06-18-2009 at 09:20 PM   #1
goodnews.inc
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 633 Times

Major in Commerce, Minor in Biology
Very simply put, is that feasible?

I'm a first year student as of 2009/2010 and I've always been passionate about Biology and I'd like to keep the possibility of medicine open after I graduate but I'd also like the fallback of a Business degree.

I can get my 6 credits in Level I toward a minor by taking 2 Bio electives but I'm worried that there may not be place for these later on in the Commerce program.

In the later years, there seem to be more and more mandatory requirements for Commerce.

And I also wanted to ask if it was advisable.

I did Grade 12 Bio a year ago and to be honest, we didn't touch on the chemistry aspect as much and I've got a foggy recollection of the subject.

I'm good at it though and I've always enjoyed it.

Would it be possible, with the right time and dedication to do well in the course or should I study before it even starts?

I'd really appreciate it and I thank you in advance for your help and time.
Old 06-18-2009 at 09:26 PM   #2
feonateresa
Elite Member

Liked: 196 Times

Well remember that you only need 24 units in a subject for it to be declared a Minor. I'm not sure how many electives Commerce allows, but I would think you would be alright.

goodnews.inc says thanks to feonateresa for this post.
Old 06-18-2009 at 09:42 PM   #3
Lois
Elite Member

Liked: 361 Times