MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to get major in bsc. psych with minor in b.a. prgrm? Richa Academics 3 08-15-2010 03:49 AM
Double major w/ minor John H Academics 15 12-27-2009 11:00 PM
Major in Commerce, Minor in Biology goodnews.inc Academics 38 06-22-2009 05:04 PM
Getting a minor or double major in economics kgill Academics 2 04-11-2009 03:21 PM
Picking a Major and Minor lorend Academics 37 05-30-2008 04:50 PM

Major, Minor...

Old 08-23-2008 at 10:19 AM   #1
Almurnith

Liked: 0 Times

Major, Minor...
I've always wanted to know how those work. Is it important for first year? I'm going into the Life Science program so how do I know what I'm majoring in?

Or do the courses I select for second and third year decide what I major/minor in?
Old 08-23-2008 at 10:36 AM   #2
davey
Elite Member

Liked: 14 Times

you have to tailor your first year to fit the requirements needed to proceed to your chosen 2nd year program (your major).

you can find the requirements for 2nd year programs under the faculty of science section of the undergraduate calendar:

http://registrar.mcmaster.ca /calen...08/sec_438.htm

For example, if you wanted to major in Honours Biochemistry (Biotech and Genetics Specialization), you would need to take these courses in first year:

Quote:
Admission
EFFECTIVE 2009-2010: Enrolment in this program is limited and possession of the published minimum requirements does not guarantee admission. Admission is by selection but requires, as a minimum, completion of any Level I program with a Cumulative Average of at least 6.0 including:
6 units BIOLOGY 1A03, 1M03 (or 1AA3)6 units CHEM 1A03, 1AA33 units from MATH 1A03, 1LS33 units from PHYSICS 1B03, 1L03 (See Admission Note 1 above.)6 units from Life Sciences I Course List (See Admission Notes 1 and 2 above.)
A grade of at least C+ in four of BIOLOGY 1A03, 1M03 (or 1AA3), CHEM 1A03, 1AA3 and either MATH 1A03 or 1LS3 is required.