MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double major w/ minor John H Academics 15 12-27-2009 11:00 PM
Switching from Business Minor to Major? potatopotato First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 11-23-2009 07:10 PM
Getting a minor or double major in economics kgill Academics 2 04-11-2009 03:21 PM
Major, Minor... Almurnith First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 13 08-24-2008 01:31 PM
Picking a Major and Minor lorend Academics 37 05-30-2008 04:50 PM

Major in Commerce, Minor in Biology

Old 06-20-2009 at 05:10 PM   #16
goodnews.inc
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 633 Times

So from where I am right now this was my plan:

1st Year:

2 Prep courses:
COMM 1PA0
SCI 1A00

Required Commerce Courses:
COMP SCI 1BA3
COMM 1E03
ECON 1B03
MATH 1A03
BIO 1A03

I'm just grouping those together because ideally I'd like to take them together.
This is my first year of higher level business because I was a science student in high school and I'm trying to ...schedule wisely, if you will.

STATS 1L03
PSYCH 1X03
BIO 1M03
CHEM 1A03
ECON 1BB3

And then...

Summer: End of April - Mid June: CHEM 1AA3

This would allow me to fit in those upper year Bios and I wouldn't be tiring myself out by overloading, in the year or during the summer.
PLUS I get the knowledge I need for the MCATs and I don't have to worry too much about prerequisites though of course, there are some Bio's I am not granted access to because I'm not in the program, but I can take enough of them.

In my 2nd year, I was thinking of deferring one of the 3 Commerce courses listed on FAQ's for Commerce 2 on www.degroote.mcmaster .ca (http://www.degroote.mcmaster .ca/UG....pdf) ...such as ECON 2X03 perhaps, to the following summer (2011 summer) as you suggested, gmon, giving me those 2 elective options where I could take BIO 2A03, and BIO 2B03.