MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scholarships available agbozzelli Academics 1 08-10-2010 10:34 AM
scholarships jaason87 Financial Aid 13 07-12-2010 01:31 AM
Scholarships MrSmith Financial Aid 18 06-24-2010 09:07 PM
McMaster Scholarships jubilantx First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 01-16-2010 01:04 PM
Scholarships and GPA Goce Academics 4 11-22-2009 12:30 AM

McMaster Scholarships

Old 03-27-2008 at 03:21 PM   #1
J-Met
Elite Member

Liked: 136 Times

McMaster Scholarships
Hi people, Im a prospective student and I just ot accepted for engineering at mac.

Im almost positive I want to come here, but ive notciced mac scholarships dont seem to be as valuable as at other schools.

Ive got an 89% average atm, so I know I will get the 1000 dollar scholarship renewable for 2 years.

However, at U of T I got a 1000 dollar scholarship renewable for 4 years, as well as a 3000 dollar one-time scholarship for engineering specifically.

So it ends up being $4000-7000 at U of T compared to a $1000-2000 at McMaster.

So I was just wondering why macs scholarships seem to be lower than other school's....do students at mac get any free bonuses?...are living expenses and tuition at mac generally cheaper than other schools?

Or is it just that mac is a REALLY nice school and doesn't have to try as hard to get people in? (cuz to be honest, i would still rather go to mac than U of T even if it ends up costing me an extra 5 grand)
Old 03-27-2008 at 06:09 PM   #2
davey
Elite Member

Liked: 14 Times

U of T tuition rates and living expenses are going to be higher than going to school at Mac....

For tuition:

UT Applied Science and Engineering $8,452
Mac Engineering 1 $7,212

http://www.prospective.utoro nto.ca...rs/Tuition.htm
http://www.mcmaster.ca/bms/student/p..._level_ 1.pdf