MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing Horizons Galleria First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 11 07-18-2011 03:07 PM
Walking from class to class without being late aw07 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 50 06-22-2011 12:53 AM
Missing! mackid91 General Discussion 5 02-03-2010 11:29 AM
ECON 1B03, need to switch afternoon class for the morning class. Sintos Academics 3 01-06-2010 05:12 PM

Missing Class?

Old 08-20-2011 at 10:40 PM   #1
mediagurl

Liked: 22 Times

Missing Class?
This is my first year in University and I know it is very different then high school but what is the policy in missing (skipping) class? Would it be bad to miss a week of classes? How about just one class? I don't want to get into the habit of missing class I was just wondering. If it helps I'm in communication studies. Thanks!

**haha, i realized after I said year, when I ment week. ops. thanks for all the tips though!

Last edited by mediagurl : 08-21-2011 at 10:32 PM.
Old 08-20-2011 at 10:42 PM   #2
Lois
Elite Member

Liked: 361 Times

I didn't go to a lot of classes and I still got great marks - mostly for chemistry and math where everything can be learnt from the text.

In humanities it seems to be more important to go to class - a lot of the material from lectures is often tested and they might point you to essential parts of readings.

mediagurl says thanks to Lois for this post.
Old 08-21-2011 at 06:20 PM   #3
AllisonJ

Liked: 1 Time

I would say that you should try to make it to all of your classes until at least your first round of midterms. After that you will probably be able to tell which courses you need the in-class style learning from and which ones you can handle from the textbook. Sometimes sleeping in or staying home and doing some reading can serve you just as well as a lecture.
Old 08-21-2011 at 06:51 PM   #4
~*Sara*~
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 622 Times