MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Nursing Caitlyn Academics 158 07-23-2011 10:50 AM
First year nursing student :P anyone else taking nursing and if not message still :) C.RUMBLE Introduce Yourself 9 08-27-2010 12:56 PM
CPR course for nursing? memyselfandi First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 05-18-2010 07:31 PM

Nursing PBL

Old 11-17-2013 at 09:49 PM   #1
browneyedgirl

Liked: 2 Times

Nursing PBL
What is your opinion of the PBL learning system at Mac? So, this question is mostly for nursing students, I am a first year nursing student and so far I am loving my clinical class, my clinical placement, I'm even finding anatomy and psych enjoyable. PBL, however, I am not so keen on...that is to say, I can't stand it. It's not so much the content (although that can get pretty dry) and not a problem with my group since I like the majority of its members, I just hate the way it is organized and set up. I feel like I have no idea what is going on in that class, and I never understand what exactly we were supposed to learn from it. I guess what I really want to know is, does this get any better?
Old 11-17-2013 at 10:47 PM   #2
MariamH

Liked: 0 Times

I'm in Nursing too (first year)! I too find Anatomy to be very interesting and enjoyable. As for PBL, I have met upper-year nursing students who absolutely love it and others who detest it. However, I have met nurses who graduated from McMaster in the local hospital in the area where I reside, and they said PBL was actually a good learning experience for them. I used to work for a manager of a clinical unit (in the same hospital) and she told me that she completed her BScN here and enjoyed PBL very much. She said that practicing PBL will help you in the long-term because that will allow you to view the situation of your patient's health from different angles. I guess that would be beneficial for us in the future.