MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pass crazy4trees First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 0 08-17-2012 08:02 AM
Bus Pass GCSM Automotive & Transportation 35 08-31-2011 02:24 PM
Mac pass ? sayok8737 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 08-18-2010 01:54 PM
Bus Pass Opt-Out thirdyearboy General Discussion 60 10-21-2009 10:01 AM

OPT OUT OF HSR Bus Pass

Old 09-16-2013 at 11:33 AM   #1
shay2014

Liked: 4 Times

OPT OUT OF HSR Bus Pass
Hey,

I know we can opt out of the MSU Dental and Health plan if we have equivalent or better coverage, but can students opt out of the HSR Bus Pass? I am a full-time student but I commute from Oakville so I never use the student card as a bus pass ( only use the Train and Go-Train to get to school). I'd rather spend the $126.15 for a service I actually need. Just wondering if anyone knows if opting out is an option.
Old 09-16-2013 at 11:42 AM   #2
blackdragon
Elite Member

Liked: 339 Times

No, you cannot opt out of the HSR fee.

Chad, shay2014 all say thanks to blackdragon for this post.
Old 09-16-2013 at 12:24 PM   #3
Commie42
Elite Member

Liked: 133 Times

The reason that the MSU is able to get such a good deal on the bus passes is because they agree to charge all students it in their MSU fee. Sorry, nothing you can do about this.

Chad says thanks to Commie42 for this post.
Old 09-16-2013 at 03:38 PM   #4
Leeoku
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 526 Times

Not possible. Was part of deal that every person pays
Old 09-16-2013 at 07:35 PM   #5
qwerty91
Elite Member

Liked: 175 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commie42 View Post
The reason that the MSU is able to get such a good deal on the bus passes is because they agree to charge all students it in their MSU fee. Sorry, nothing you can do about this.
Its actually not that cheap.

# of undergrad students at mac: 25k

cost per student: $126.15
https://www.msumcmaster.ca/info/hami...-rail-hsr-pass