URGENT: My power is out. Penguin Mary Keyes Forum 3 09-30-2008 03:49 PM

Power outlets and wi-fi in classrooms?

Old 07-02-2009 at 05:25 PM   #16
sew12
Elite Member

Liked: 470 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by feonateresa View Post
That's what we were wondering. I mean, we pay to be there right. She told us that she knew other professors who did it. So who knows.
I know a prof who had a no laptops rule. She said people could bring them and if we ever needed them they could take them out but we wouldn't really need them.

In all honesty I never really bring my laptop too class. It's too tempting and distracting.

I just take notes by hand, I'm a fast writer and I find it works for me. I absorb more of the information that way. Some people obviously aren't fast writers so they need to type their notes but using the internet during class is a bad idea. It is super distracting when other people around you are using it for Facebook and videos and such too.
Old 07-02-2009 at 05:32 PM   #17
feonateresa
Elite Member

Liked: 196 Times

Indeed it is distracting. I remember when I saw someone fully watching a movie during class, it was a recent movie, definitely more than an hour. I was like, why are you in class in the first place? It doesn't make sense and you're distracting other people, how is that fair to anyone?

Some folks are just weird I guess. :/
Old 07-02-2009 at 05:34 PM   #18
PTGregD
Elite Member

Liked: 349 Times

I didn't break my laptop to a single class last year. It really is just a tool for getting distracted. When facebook and youtube and twitter and msn etc. are just a click away, it's never good
Old 07-02-2009 at 05:39 PM   #19
sew12
Elite Member

Liked: 470 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by feonateresa View Post