MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about university life Fahad64 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 7 05-28-2014 03:20 PM
Life Science Questions First Year naval23 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 07-04-2012 11:55 PM
Life Science I Math Questions macnoob First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 06-26-2012 09:55 PM
Life Sci questions IBB9780 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 19 06-25-2011 06:36 PM
3rd Year Life Sci Bsc Questions soft_kitty99 Academics 3 06-19-2010 12:05 PM

Questions about Mac Life Sci

Old 06-05-2014 at 08:21 PM   #1
Prospective97

Liked: 0 Times

Questions about Mac Life Sci
Hi eveyone

I'm a prospective grade 11 student from Ontario, who is thinking about applying to McMaster next fall. I've already been to the campus twice (it's one of the nicer ones I've visited), and it's one of the best Canadian schools. I'm a little apprehensive about the life science program itself though.

First of all, I'm a straight A student, did particularly well in the grade 11 science courses, and I took 3 grade 12 courses this semester, all of which I have above a 90 in.

(Please correct me if I'm wrong) The way I understand it is that they try to take 840 kids a year into life science, all of whom have high 80's and above in high school and then stream them out into different branches second year, with the best programs having tougher averages.

How hard is it to get into good programs 2nd year? You're competing with kids who are just as good as you, or better for a limited number of spots. I'm particularly interested in the biochemistry, molecular biology and genetics and origins research specializations.

Does anyone know how many people are accepted into each of those programs each year, and what the 1st year cutoff marks are?