MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Admitted into Social Science and told i wont be able to switch into a Science program MariaQ First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 25 05-23-2010 03:47 PM
Urgent: Science And Social Science Macpasses Sold Out! casey.park MacInsiders Announcements 29 09-06-2009 09:04 AM
Social Science electives deeO General Discussion 8 06-30-2009 01:56 PM
Easy first-year Social Sciences Electives? Mr.Prodigy Academics 6 12-08-2008 07:36 AM
Switching from Social Science to Enviromental Science shirvan Academics 5 10-23-2008 09:58 PM

Social Science Electives

Old 07-01-2008 at 01:50 PM   #1
Ruggedman

Liked: 0 Times

Social Science Electives
Hey everyone, im a social science student and SOLAR opens up for us on July 4th.

Im having a hard time picking electives and some advice would be greatly appreaciated.

Here's a list of courses i am planning on taking (rough idea, and i still need one more course to make 30 units)

POL SCI 1G06
ECON 1B03
ECON 1BB3
ANTHROP 1A03
LABR ST 1A03
SOCIOL 1A06
GEOG 1HA3

I want to take economics, but is there a math required with them? iv gone through the course calendar many times and it does not say i need too, and i really hope i dont have to because i am extremley bad in maths (60's to be honest)

And if i do, can somebody send me the link where it tells me what electives are necessary if i take these courses, for example i know Pshych students need math and or bio.

Your help on this would be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-01-2008 at 02:27 PM   #2
lorend
MacInsiders VP
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 506 Times

Did you take Data Mangement in high school? Many of the soc sci disiplines (Anthro being one for sure) require a statistics (year two or after). I know Poli Sci does as well, and I think Labour Studies too. This is of course if you want to major in them.