MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
textbook readings takeabreath Academics 1 09-16-2012 04:06 PM
First Year Electives where you do not have to do readings CAHopeful Academics 10 05-21-2011 11:32 PM
readings/summarizing kirsten..! First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 3 09-17-2010 12:38 PM
First year, started my readings and freaking out!? lizziemcg First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 29 09-14-2009 12:04 AM

Summer readings for next year?

Old 03-24-2014 at 03:37 PM   #1
MovingTarget

Liked: 6 Times

Summer readings for next year?
Hi there,

So as the year wraps up, as a first year student, I'm hearing more and more about how important/beneficial it is to start some of the textbook readings for your courses next year.

As a science student, I select my courses for next year sometime in June and I'm assuming your schedule is released a month or so later. However, knowing that some courses are required, how does one go about getting the textbook required for that course for use in the summer?

Would I have to come to Mac during the summer and go to Titles? Read online?

Or, is reading ahead in the summer even worth it?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
Old 03-24-2014 at 04:54 PM   #2
starfish
Elite Member

Liked: 572 Times

Book lists for September don't come out until August. You can go with what was used this year, but the editions (or sometimes the entire book) might change next year when you actually take the class.
Personally I think it's a waste of time anyways, but I've never really understood why people do textbook readings. For me, just doing readings on their own does nothing to help me learn.
If you've got the time and want to learn the material, why not take one of these required courses in summer school?

MovingTarget says thanks to starfish for this post.
Old 03-24-2014 at 08:31 PM   #3
jaywa
Account Disabled by User

Liked: 9 Times