MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Eng/Mgmt Textbooks Question Theashe Academics 2 08-20-2011 04:02 PM
Mechatronics & Mgmt OR Biomed Elec Eng (PLZ HELP!) patso29 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 22 06-09-2011 01:10 AM
Switching into Software Engineering from Computer Science julianface Academics 19 02-11-2011 09:10 AM
Engineering Mgmt. Electives GCSM First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 14 05-20-2010 12:46 PM

Switching from Mechatronics Mgmt to Software Mgmt Level 2

Old 10-18-2011 at 08:18 PM   #1
kevcom

Liked: Liked 3 Times

Switching from Mechatronics Mgmt to Software Mgmt Level 2
So I'm currently pursuing my Mechatronics and Management degree. I'm in second year and finding the work load extremely overwhelming. For example, this past weekend, I went out once, for an hour. The rest of the weekend I spent doing homework. A few of the courses I'm finding are uninteresting (notably Statics and Dynamics), and another (Eng Phys) has ridiculous labs and assignments. All this work is being detrimental to my physical and mental health. I can say I have no social life anymore.

I'm thinking of switching into software engineering and mgmt. Does anyone have any insight on my particular situation, or could offer me suggestions? I've always done well in computer programming courses, whereas I've had to work extra hard to do well in physics. Also, in thinking about my possible career options, I see myself as being better suited to work on a software project, rather than one that is multidisciplinary in nature - such as building an industrial robot. Here's the hitch though - I've always loved, as a hobby, playing around with electrical circuits, making electrical modifications to my bike, trying to build a go cart, etc.