MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some help/advice. labeeb First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 9 10-29-2011 03:00 PM
ENG advice soody Academics 4 08-15-2011 09:17 PM
need some advice... SciMania Academics 5 04-03-2011 07:16 PM
some advice please... EngLufLuf General Discussion 16 06-22-2009 10:29 PM
some advice please... kin or bio? sunny General Discussion 9 06-22-2009 10:25 PM

Advice on CV's

Old 09-18-2013 at 09:25 AM   #1
theresa

Liked: 0 Times

Advice on CV's
So I have very little research experience, but I am hoping to volunteer in a lab to gain more experience/potentially do a thesis in upper years. After emailing a professor, they responded with wanting to see a CV. They are aware that I have very little research experience (though I have volunteered through many other venue's and work part time). A resume would definitely be better suited to my experience. What I am unsure of is when writing a CV, there are many headings in which I have nothing to put under (I am not published, nor do I have teaching experience). Has anyone encountered this? Or have any suggestions on how I should go about giving them a CV?
Old 09-18-2013 at 09:45 AM   #2
Chad
MacInsiders Founder/Admin
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 1,730 Times

A CV = a resume. Resume's don't have to have specific headings, you don't need to be published or have teaching experience.

Have a section for experience where you list any jobs you did in the past, you could also have a section for featured academic work.. and list some of your university projects/labs/work that you are most impressed with that you'd like them to know about.

As you said, the prof isn't expecting you to have crazy amounts of experience so don't let that stop you. They just want to get to know you better by seeing some history about your work ethic.

theresa says thanks to Chad for this post.
Old 09-18-2013 at 11:59 AM   #3
5.98e24

Liked: 12 Times