MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Careers in Health Care e-norman Volunteering Opportunities 4 09-15-2010 06:33 PM
Previous Health Care Experience? AnnaWM Volunteering Opportunities 3 06-12-2010 05:15 PM
Career Advice You Can Use! Gabi101 MacInsiders Announcements 0 11-20-2009 08:32 AM
Obama's Health Care speech fullsmash26 General Discussion 4 07-24-2009 08:29 PM

Career in Health Care - advice?

Old 12-25-2009 at 09:22 PM   #1
Allan
Elite Member

Liked: 115 Times

Career in Health Care - advice?
Hey guys,

I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Engineering, and now interested in pursuing a career in the health care sector.

I doubt that I would be able to get into medical school (due to my GPA). I was wondering what other options I have in health care/sciences (either master's or another undergraduate degree).

Hope you guys can help. Thanks.
Old 12-25-2009 at 09:27 PM   #2
macsci
Elite Member

Liked: 93 Times

Masters in Biomedical Engineering?
Old 12-25-2009 at 09:45 PM   #3
Allan
Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by macsci View Post
Masters in Biomedical Engineering?
I'm definitely staying away from anymore Engineering, due to the job prospects. I'm trying to get into a profession that's in high demand.
Old 12-25-2009 at 11:50 PM   #4
lorend
MacInsiders VP
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 506 Times

You don't need to apply to med school right out of university.

If you are interested in medicine, volunteer at a hospital, as it will give you a bit of a feel for what the job is like (and I mean interacting with patients, not gift shop stuff). Also, take Health Studies classes to see if it is indeed what you like.

You may also want to consider Nursing of Physicians Assistant programs.

We are people of this generation, bred in at least modest comfort, housed in universities, looking uncomfortably into the world we inherit. -- Port Huron Statement

Old 12-26-2009 at 12:28 AM   #5
davey
Elite Member

Liked: 14 Times