MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing Courses (Commerce students only) Salik Academics 9 05-06-2012 10:13 PM
Choosing an Engineering Stream DarthFuzzy First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 25 03-17-2011 04:24 PM
Engineering I Elective choosing Bodun First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 0 06-27-2010 11:40 PM
Need Help Choosing Courses ThatGuy Academics 3 06-22-2009 11:15 PM
Choosing Sections for Courses benjs First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 07-06-2008 05:24 PM

Choosing Engineering I courses and few other questions

Old 06-15-2012 at 12:25 PM   #16
Alexmahone
Elite Member

Liked: 64 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisu4 View Post
thanks Chris, I have no programming experience, whatsoever, but from what I heard that isn't a problem since the program has no programming prerequisites.

I hope that would be alright, or would you suggest to start learning Python's basics over the summer so I have an easier time during the fall?
If you have spare time now, it would be a good idea to buy the textbook and start learning Python right away, to gain some programming experience. (In fact, that's exactly what I'm doing now, as I plan to take CS1MD3 in the fall.) That said, Python is much easier to learn than Java / C++.

Arisu4 says thanks to Alexmahone for this post.
Old 06-15-2012 at 12:26 PM   #17
jim1
Elite Member

Liked: 360 Times

Quote:
thanks Chris, I have no programming experience, whatsoever, but from what I heard that isn't a problem since the program has no programming prerequisites.

I hope that would be alright, or would you suggest to start learning Python's basics over the summer so I have an easier time during the fall?
It's a good idea to learn some basic programming principles before you start school. You can check out some of the tutorial videos on YouTube.
I found this tutorial for Python (feel free to look for other videos if you don't like this one):