MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a Minor aya017 Academics 0 03-08-2011 10:33 PM
What is a minor really? MacAttk First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 08-11-2010 05:44 AM
GIS Minor: How do I go about getting one? huzaifa47 Academics 8 04-18-2010 02:19 PM
Economics Minor? natashapoly General Discussion 4 05-04-2009 10:31 PM
Minor in Kin? notredame Academics 3 01-18-2009 05:18 PM

How does getting/having a minor work?

Old 03-13-2011 at 10:18 PM   #1
MirandaC

Liked: 41 Times

How does getting/having a minor work?
Hi, I am a prospective student who will most likely be in life sci I next year unless I get into health sci (I do not think I will). I would like to minor in something but how do you declare a minor?

Also, I have seen that it is possible to minor in music but do you have to go through an audition process like you do if you major in music?

One more question. Does having a minor take ALL your electives away? Because I would like to have the option of going to medschool later and need to take a couple humanities to fill prereqs for some med schools.

I would really appreciate any help! Thanks.
Old 03-13-2011 at 11:32 PM   #2
sf

Liked: 36 Times

You don't declare a minor until you graduate, so you have lots of time to think about which one you want to do/if you actually want to do one. A minor is only 24 units, so it definitely will not take up all your electives.

MirandaC says thanks to sf for this post.
Old 03-13-2011 at 11:40 PM   #3
AelyaS
Fitzgerald groupie

Liked: 521 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordnerd View Post
Hi, I am a prospective student who will most likely be in life sci I next year unless I get into health sci (I do not think I will). I would like to minor in something but how do you declare a minor?

Also, I have seen that it is possible to minor in music but do you have to go through an audition process like you do if you major in music?