MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing major to Biology from Life Science: When to apply? yourPal Academics 1 06-29-2015 03:05 PM
Double Major in Economics and Political Science mobakri First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 09-19-2013 03:59 PM
Is a Double minor Double major possible? barclayyy Academics 8 12-24-2012 03:55 AM
Double major in Political Science & Peace Studies Lawstudent Academics 1 10-19-2011 11:46 AM
Major Computer Science, Minor ??? Marty42 Academics 2 03-17-2009 02:17 PM

Double major in Biology and Computer science

Old 01-02-2017 at 08:40 PM   #1
ovo1007

Liked: 0 Times

Double major in Biology and Computer science
hey guys,
im in first year life science at the moment and throughout the first semester I convinced my self that med school is not for me. However, i was thinking of double majoring in biology and computer science.
I am thinking of doing this because its hard to get a job just with a life science degree and computer science is the new thing now a days (in my opinion)

I was just wondering what your thoughts are on this and have you heard of anyone doing these 2 majors and turned out successful?
Old 01-03-2017 at 12:22 AM   #2
Imperious

Liked: 27 Times

I was looking at uWaterloo's CS Degree with a Bioinformatics option and it seems roughly equivalent to a CS degree with a Bio minor. What are your bio marks so far? Have you taken any CS courses, any good marks? You don't want to do med school anymore but do you still like biology? If not you should just go pure CS if Biology is gonna bring down your GPA. I feel like a double major might be a bit too much unless you want to work in a wet lab type of setting for biology.

I think if you're interested in both Bio and CS you should aim for something in the bioinformatics area. Possibly consider transferring universities? Here's a link to Undergraduate Bioinformatics programs