MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop processor differences and Laptop opinions **jewel 03** Computers & Tech 42 10-30-2010 03:43 PM
$35 Laptop! blackdragon Computers & Tech 14 07-23-2010 11:38 PM
Laptop Necessary? fall3n Computers & Tech 25 07-05-2010 05:52 PM
Which Laptop?? manav Computers & Tech 216 09-03-2009 11:35 PM

Laptop Help

Old 07-15-2011 at 12:21 AM   #1
gabrielle.lr

Liked: 0 Times

Laptop Help
HEY!

I'm a first year McMaster newbie and need a laptop ASAP:

Preferable slim and light
Minimum 4Gb RAM and 500Gb storage
Good Webcam
Fast processor (like i5/i7??)
Durable, so will hopefully last more than a few years Hahah
And preferably under 1000$

I'm not an engineering student so I dont need specific program capable laptops, and am not a gamer so I dont really need SUPER highspeed/highdef either.

I'd love to hear what you guys have and if you like it as well as your recommendations!

THANKS!

also Ive heard around the block that HP and toshiba are bad? True?
Old 07-15-2011 at 12:46 AM   #2
xFLY

Liked: 13 Times

Not sure about Toshiba, but HP's are regarded quite high in performance and build quality.

If you have around $700-$1000, definetly go for an Intel i7.

Start looking at Futureshop & BestBuy, you will usually find the best deals there for a new laptop. They have everything from basic systems to high end laptops.

Last edited by xFLY : 07-15-2011 at 12:48 AM.

gabrielle.lr says thanks to xFLY for this post.
Old 07-15-2011 at 01:05 AM   #3
gabrielle.lr

Liked: 0 Times

Also, has anyone had the Samsung QX410-S02CA? I really like it but don't know much about samsung and their durability
Old 07-15-2011 at 01:28 AM   #4
dumbconsumer

Liked: 80 Times

http://www.bestbuy.ca/Search/SearchR...tegor y=28239

hopefully that link works. I have an HP, I like it.
Old 07-15-2011 at 01:35 AM   #5
Leeoku
MacInsiders Staff

Liked: 521 Times

anything asus/msi
Old 07-15-2011 at 07:17 AM   #6
particle
Elite Member