MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Languages 10pauljuli First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 5 06-12-2010 08:49 PM
Programming Languages used in first year Comp Sci philwood First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 12 11-24-2009 10:09 PM
Programming languages in Engineering? kanishka Academics 32 08-20-2009 08:27 PM

Learning several programming languages at once

Old 06-08-2011 at 07:02 PM   #1
RankNullity

Liked: 27 Times

Learning several programming languages at once
So for first semester, I'm considering taking Comp Sci 1MD3, Physics 2G03, and Math 3Q03. In the first I'm learning Java, the second I'm learning Fortran and the third I'm learning Matlab. I have no experience with programming at all. Is it reasonable and doable to learn all three at once and still do well? Or will I die?
Old 06-08-2011 at 07:13 PM   #2
Icecream
Account Locked

Liked: 42 Times

It's possible (over the year) but if you're very into programming, I suggest you switch to Computer Science.
Old 06-08-2011 at 07:41 PM   #3
anonanon987
Power Abuser

Liked: 459 Times

Learn the basics of programming in the summer, like what is a boolean, and if/else statement(s) and etc. Also you can learn the basics of Java online if you'd like, PM me for links.
Old 06-08-2011 at 09:47 PM   #4
RankNullity

Alright ya I guess I could do that over the summer. But would you suggest I take all three classes in one semester then?
Old 06-08-2011 at 09:51 PM   #5
Icecream
Account Locked

Quote:
Originally Posted by RankNullity View Post
Alright ya I guess I could do that over the summer. But would you suggest I take all three classes in one semester then?
If you like Programming (like a lot), then you should switch into Computer Science.

What kind of career do you want to pursue ?
Old 06-08-2011 at 09:56 PM   #6
RyanC
Elite Member

Liked: 2,312 Times

Quote: