MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eng: McMaster Engineering Custom Vehicle Team temptingf8 Request Calendar Event 0 10-04-2010 11:37 PM
Mcmaster engineering terryboy First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 35 03-09-2010 08:52 AM
McMaster Engineering - Coop MacEng First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 13 05-25-2008 08:48 PM
McMaster Engineering - 50 years Chad MacInsiders Announcements 0 01-11-2008 09:34 AM
McMaster Engineering Competition! Chad MacInsiders Announcements 0 12-12-2007 02:36 AM

McMaster engineering

Old 05-11-2008 at 02:47 PM   #1
dynast

Liked: 0 Times

Mcmaster engineering
hi all,
im not sure if this is the thread to ask, but,
I'm a prospective student here, got accepted into most engineering programs, and i was wondering:

1. How is Mcmaster's engineering? In terms of reputation, and academic strength? I went to UofT, and Waterloo's open houses, and it was obvious that they had some top notch engineering programs. I went to tour the Mcmaster engineering building...and it seemed quite mediocre, especially in comparison to their health science building.

2. How hard is Mcmaster's engineering. If you work hard, can you get a 80%?

3. How are the job prospects from this program? Don't UofT and Waterloo grads get all the good job?
Old 05-11-2008 at 03:37 PM   #2
J-Met
Elite Member

Liked: 136 Times

First of all, what type of engineering are you going into? I too have toured McMaster, Waterloo, and UofT.

Quite frankly I was entirely unimpressed with Waterloo's engineering facilities, and the university as a whole. Their buildings seemed old and run down, and there machinery looked like it was WWII era. Im interested in electrical engineering, and when they showed me the supposedly "state of the art" WEEF (sp?) lab, my dad(who is an electrician) told me he had more advanced equipment in his garage.