MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honours Music, Bac. Music Mango Academics 1 06-13-2010 11:28 PM
Business I Requirements lawleypop Academics 11 05-31-2010 10:38 PM
What are the requirements for becomng a TA? jangh2 Academics 9 12-24-2008 08:30 AM
Music 2II3 (Pop music):Seat Available Junebug Academics 1 09-15-2008 12:41 AM

Minor in Music requirements?

Old 04-12-2010 at 11:31 AM   #1
leah.d

Liked: 0 Times

Minor in Music requirements?
I am a Kin student in my 3rd year, and have been taking music through my undergraduate. By the end of 4th year, I will have 24 units in music (6 units first year, all of them are performance like 1EE6, 2G03, etc). I am wondering if this will be enough to get a Minor in music, or if I needed more credits, or if I need credits in courses other than just performance. Does anyone know?
Old 04-12-2010 at 12:02 PM   #2
sinthusized
Elite Member

Liked: 98 Times

in the course calendar, it just says

Minor in Music 24 units of Music or Music Cognition of which no more than nine units may be from Level I, subject to the prerequisites and qualifying tests specified in this Calendar.

so i think you are fine
Old 04-12-2010 at 03:21 PM   #3
ladyh

Liked: 25 Times

I'm interested in doing a minor in Music as well. How were you able to get into the classes (other than 1A03/1AA3) without being in the program? For the performance courses, do you just email them and audition with the incoming first years? I read there's an ear test and theory test, and if you have RCM Grade 2 Theory then you don't have to do it .. but does it need to be from within a certain time range? I completed that test with the RCM when I was 9 or 10 .. so I don't know if that's too long ago (I'm 20 now lmao).

For the actual audition, is it similar to the format of the RCM exams? Do you play as many pieces, and then do the technical parts (including ear test, etc etc)? Is it quite as nerve wracking? Even more nerve wracking?