MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRESTO Card Abhimint General Discussion 41 07-28-2012 03:56 PM
Presto Card Promo Leeoku MacInsiders Announcements 35 07-09-2012 04:09 PM
PRESTO Card Question Abhimint General Discussion 12 06-12-2012 03:43 PM
GO Transit's Free Presto Card Promo! Ivan Q. Automotive & Transportation 13 09-02-2011 06:26 PM
Presto Card for Summer Transit Ish001 Automotive & Transportation 6 05-23-2011 01:28 PM

No barcode on Presto card

Old 08-20-2012 at 09:48 PM   #1
SweetyTweety
Elite Member

Liked: 164 Times

No barcode on Presto card
So I just got my Presto card, put $200 on it, and was told that because I was a student, I would be able to get a discount. So he gave me my Presto card and said that I would need to reactivate it in 24 hours, then come back 24 hours after that with my student ID and he would turn it into a student balance account.

...But I don't have a barcode on my card. Am I supposed to? .. Or will they replace my card when I go back in 2 days?
Old 08-20-2012 at 10:09 PM   #2
Crzyrio
Elite Member

Liked: 106 Times

There isnt suppose to be a barcode, your presto card number is on the bottom left though. That is all you need.

Remember the presto card doesnt work by scanning but rather by tapping.

SweetyTweety says thanks to Crzyrio for this post.
Old 08-20-2012 at 10:26 PM   #3
Afzal
Android Dev

Liked: 414 Times

It uses encrypted NFC tags for authorization.

Crzyrio likes this.
Old 08-21-2012 at 12:26 AM   #4
Rayine
Elite Member

Liked: 207 Times

NFC still trips me out.
Still have no idea how it works
President, McMaster Undergraduate Society for the Chemical Sciences
Old 08-21-2012 at 12:46 AM   #5
Afzal
Android Dev

Liked: 414 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayine View Post
NFC still trips me out.
Still have no idea how it works
Meh, it's pretty simple.
Quote: