MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Websites Scuderia Computers & Tech 12 06-25-2012 03:56 PM
Job websites chuksmcc Volunteering Opportunities 4 09-14-2011 05:50 PM
Websites getting shutdown Rakim General Discussion 4 02-01-2011 11:05 PM
Some rather Interesting websites! :0 huzaifa47 General Discussion 4 08-26-2009 09:21 PM
New Websites for MSU and SOCS Chad MacInsiders Announcements 2 08-31-2008 05:52 AM

Python Help Websites

Old 09-23-2012 at 03:47 AM   #1
Alomar12

Liked: 42 Times

Python Help Websites
I am a third-year Life Sciences student taking Chemistry 2PC3, Mathematical Tools for Chemical Problems. The course involves a lot of programming in Python and I have ZERO experience with it. I am actually really surprised that a Python programming course isn't a pre-requisite and the prof and TAs don't really help us. Does anybody know of a/some good website(s) for learning how to use Python, NumPy/SciPy and Eclipse?
Old 09-23-2012 at 08:11 AM   #2
RyanC
Elite Member

Liked: 2,314 Times

The python website has a ton of tutorials, if you haven't checked that site out yet. Also, 1st and 2nd year engineering students do an intro course on python, so you could find an eng friend, or even see if the TAs at the 2nd floor JHE computer lab can be of any assistance
Have they given you no tutorialship or teaching in python? Any course with programming has usually assumed no prior programming experience unless expressly stated in the course outline or description...
Old 09-23-2012 at 09:12 AM   #3
Swampis

Liked: 39 Times

Check out 'thenewboston' on youtube. He has a playlist of ~40 tutorial videos on learning Python.
I found his videos really easy to follow and understand when I was learning Java.
Here is a link to that playlist of videos.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Mf0h...A&feature=plcp
He also has videos going thru how to use eclipse as well.
Old 09-23-2012 at 09:20 AM   #4
Zachary

Liked: 77 Times

Quote: