MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courses to Take in Spring/Summer AnimeGamer31 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 14 03-25-2012 04:29 PM
Tentative Spring/Summer timetable is out. oranges Academics 26 02-07-2012 04:06 AM
Spring/summer Courses nick Academics 5 05-10-2010 01:07 AM
Spring/Summer Sign Up? Deegs14 Academics 9 03-01-2010 02:37 PM
Spring/Summer Term Deegs14 Academics 14 11-09-2009 03:17 PM

Thinking about the Spring/Summer semester...

Old 11-27-2012 at 01:08 AM   #1
speirac

Liked: 1 Time

Thinking about the Spring/Summer semester...
I am in first year Humanities and plan on transferring to Level II PNB next September. I would like to take a full course load for two summers so that I can graduate a year early. (I have 6 units of transfer credits from another school so I would be able to fit everything in)

Is anyone else doing the same thing/ is this a bad idea?

Also, I noticed the prerequisites for all of my upper year PNB courses require registration in Level III or IV. In taking summer courses, how is it determined what level I am in, and if I will be able to register in these courses?

Thanks!
Old 11-27-2012 at 01:32 AM   #2
Alomar12

Liked: 42 Times

Taking a full Spring/Summer course load is a bad idea. The material is much more condensed (packing a 12 week courses into less than six). Especially considering you are transferring programs, your grades are vital. This is also true when applying to professional schools, grad school, or seeking employment. Finishing early does not look impressive if the results aren't there. It is much better to get through school in four or even five years with high grades than three years with mediocre grades.