MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Health Science 1G03 for a life science student 1nfinite First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 0 06-11-2013 05:18 PM
Honours Life Sci vs. Life Science AmandaFrole Academics 13 05-15-2013 10:10 PM
Life Science Help/Opinion Darknight23 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 14 06-26-2012 12:57 PM
Life Sci 2H03: Environmental Life Science The Effekt Academics 7 06-06-2012 10:39 PM
Transferring from Life Science to Health Science MichaelScarn Academics 12 07-06-2011 10:39 AM

Your opinion on this Life Science course load...

Old 06-22-2013 at 09:55 AM   #1
RiskBreaker

Liked: 5 Times

Your opinion on this Life Science course load...
Hello Everyone,

I am a High school student and am planning on joining Honours Biochemistry Biomedical Research Specialization and this is the schedule I have formulated for myself.

Term1:
Math 1B03
Math 1A03
Physics 1B03
Chem 1A03
Chem 1AA3

Term2:
Physics 1BB3
Math 1AA3
MED Physics 1E03
Biology 1A03
Biology 1M03

I would sincerely appreciate any suggestions/opinions on this course load from people who have taken courses at McMaster; those who are in 2nd year/higher in Biochem Specialization or those who have done a few of the courses on the list.

Bottom line; Would this be too much to handle? Should I thin the science courses? I am an upper 80's student and physics was the subject that pulled me down.

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-22-2013 at 09:58 AM   #2
Biochem47
Elite Member

Liked: 73 Times

You can't do both chems in one semester (1A is a prerequisite for 1AA) and it is STRONGLY recommended you dont do both bios in one semester.

Swap Chem 1AA and Bio 1A and you should be good. Otherwise it is a pretty standard schedule. Also, I'm pretty sure as a first year lifesci you need to take Psych 1X, we had to at least.

RiskBreaker says thanks to Biochem47 for this post.
Old 06-22-2013 at 10:16 AM   #3
starfish
Elite Member

Liked: 580 Times