MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Life Sciences vs. Health Sciences IqzFendi General Discussion 7 07-03-2011 10:55 PM
life/health sciences janom93 Academics 33 12-04-2010 09:50 AM
Life sciences admission question TC0923 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 11 11-11-2010 10:09 PM
Admission Questions (Health & Life Sciences) Damian-F First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 12 09-15-2010 11:29 PM
Life Sciences or Health Science? Shagana First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 13 06-17-2009 07:10 PM

Admission to McMaster (Life Sciences and Health Sciences)

Old 03-20-2012 at 06:56 PM   #1
Unregistered

Admission to McMaster (Life Sciences and Health Sciences)
Hi!
I'm currently a Grade 11 student, but I finish a semester early so I'm technically in my senior year right now. So, basically Mac is my dream school. I've sat in on a few 3rd and 4th year lectures - specifically health sci/biochem and have loved them.

So, I just would like to get some background information - how many people have had issues taking health sciences courses being in a major such as Biochemistry or Biology? For obvious reasons, Health Sci is a competitive program to get into, but I've heard that with the proper marks and knowing who to talk to, a lot of Biology majors and Biochem majors are able to get into courses that are specifically/preferentially given to health science students as long as they have the prereqs. Is this true?

For the program itself, how important are extracurriculars? And even more specifically, how do they decide which extracurricular (ie; a sport vs. a club such as computer science) is weighted over another?

My marks are pretty decent, I'm currently in Chemistry, and have Biology, English and an Elective to take - but I'm pretty confident for all of those right now.

Any feedback would be much appreciated! Thanks so much, and good luck on your finals everyone
Old 03-20-2012 at 08:58 PM   #2
sarahsullz