MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
having a hard time with osap! jen.moskalyk Financial Aid 1 07-14-2010 08:37 PM
HELPP Macbook hard drive crashed and exam on wednesday mcm2 Academics 21 04-09-2010 09:07 PM
will titles give me a hard time? sinthusized Academics 2 09-04-2009 12:20 PM
HSR bus pass -full time /part time student macculkin General Discussion 9 04-20-2009 06:45 PM
Hard Time Choosing Electives Alvand Academics 6 09-01-2008 05:16 PM

Can I qualify for more exam time if I'm a hard of hearing student?

Old 05-22-2013 at 12:43 PM   #1
Ahmed.N

Liked: 0 Times

Can I qualify for more exam time if I'm a hard of hearing student?
I have a lot of trouble hearing in class, I try to sit in the very front row but still it's hard because of all the chatter around me sometimes. Is it possible for me to qualify for extra time on the exams like people with ADHD, etc are?
Old 05-22-2013 at 01:37 PM   #2
RyanC
Elite Member

Liked: 2,312 Times

All requests are absolutely heard out. You should check out Student Accessibility Services for these kind of inquiries. While accommodations are usually broadly acceptable, it has to at least be a bit justified or supported by somebody (doctors, a sit-down discussion, paperwork, etc).

Not juding, but what does being hard of hearing have to do with needing more time to write a test? Consider questions like these if you choose to pursue these accommodations.

Old 05-22-2013 at 02:41 PM   #3
Watoko
Elite Member

Liked: 126 Times

Get a hearing aid?
Old 05-22-2013 at 03:02 PM   #4
mastercool

Liked: 22 Times

you can get more time but you need documented proof written by a qualified individual (like a doctor or a psychiatrist).

You will also be writing in a different exam room.
Old 05-22-2013 at 03:39 PM   #5
Chris23
Account Locked

Liked: 287 Times