MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximum allowable first year courses/credits? maay29 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 7 06-07-2012 11:02 PM
>48 first year credits MacJk First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 11-10-2011 08:07 PM
First Year Credits AmyLia Academics 4 05-27-2011 01:17 PM
transfer credits in 1st year engineering jntyrhds First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 2 06-12-2010 10:36 AM
Credits to go into 2nd year commerce shapkin123 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 1 09-21-2008 09:43 PM

Credits required for second year

Old 03-10-2013 at 04:48 PM   #1
natlegz

Liked: 0 Times

Credits required for second year
Hey guys,

Just for some clarification - I am currently in first year humanities planning to major in Communications for my 2nd year. As of right now, I will only have 27 credits after my first year and possibly 24 as I am in jeopardization of failing a class that I knew was going to be extremely difficult and low and be hold - it is. I know that I need a 5.0 GPA and a C - in CMST 1A03, however I am wondering if the credits will have any impact? Thanks!
Old 03-22-2013 at 08:02 PM   #2
SweetyTweety
Elite Member

Liked: 165 Times

I'm also wondering about this.
I looked all over the McMaster website and can't manage to find an answer.
Old 03-22-2013 at 08:35 PM   #3
xxorianna

Liked: 5 Times

I was in almost the exact same situation. You have to have 30 credits, which as you know you have to have a CA of at least 5. And for CMST 1A03 you need a C, not a C-. that was my issue, I had a C- and couldn't get into the program (along with the issue of not having enough credits). I ended up going into the general Humanities II program and retaking 1A03 and I'll be taking 2 courses in the summer to make up for the missed credits. Once this term is over hopefully I'll be able to switch into the program.