MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software Eng SD12 Academics 6 09-03-2015 10:09 PM
Can a 5.5 - 6.0 gpa get me into Software Eng? TheMatrix First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 6 05-07-2013 03:02 PM
Is this a good timetable or bad? quresmu General Discussion 3 08-14-2009 09:18 PM
West Village Condos for Sept. 2009 - The good, bad and the ugly! ritzzz General Discussion 6 06-03-2009 11:56 PM
New McMaster Website - good or bad? Chad General Discussion 17 10-25-2007 04:58 PM

Software Eng. Good or Bad?

Old 12-01-2015 at 11:15 PM   #1
NathanKolanko

Liked: 0 Times

Software Eng. Good or Bad?
Hey guys,

I'm in first year eng. Wanted to go into software for the longest time. Learned recently that software isn't the best over here. Anyone care to fill me in on the ups and downs? I've heard they are trying to overhaul the program, is this true? Are they improving it?

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-02-2015 at 12:58 AM   #2
GeorgeLucas
Elite Member

Liked: 91 Times

Pros:
- it floats

Cons:
- half baked curriculum that was unchanged since the 90s when the program was designed
- no enterprise level programming
- overcrowded classes
- many of the labs are not accessible to students outside the lab time
- classes are generally poorly organized, including piss-poor communication and laziness on behalf of most profs
- somehow courses that i found easy (and im not even a B student), were hated and done poorly in by most students, making me think they accept whoever just to accept as many bodies into the program
- labs are quite old and require significant overhaul, that includes constantly crashing computers and old software
- complete lack of vision on the department chair's half

And if course there's like a 10 page report I can write on every small thing that is broken in every single software course that I took