http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denis_Rancourt
http://www.rabble.ca/news/dismissing...versity-ottawa
http://www.tvo.org/TVO/WebObjects/TV...90410_779472_0

Is this awesome? y/n
Old 04-16-2009 at 12:50 AM   #2
ytpos
too poor to change this

Liked: 15 Times

I like his idea, but I don't like how he handled the situation with the school he was teaching in. I think this should only be used for upper year courses, where you have to earn your way into them. Isn't this just like independent study courses? (sorry, I'm in first year)
Old 04-16-2009 at 01:17 AM   #3
Alvand

Liked: 38 Times

really awesome. I have to bring up some important points I found interesting in the Rabble interview.

" With grades students learn to guess the professor's mind and to obey. It is a very sophisticated machinery, whereby the natural desire to learn, the intrinsic motivation to want to learn something because you are interested in the thing itself, is destroyed. Grades are the carrot and stick that shape obedient employees and that prepare students for the higher level indoctrinations of graduate and professional schools. The only way to develop independent thinking in the classroom is to give freedom, to break the power relationship by removing the instrument of power.

"Certification and ranking of students can be handled by employers. They can interview students, they can have entrance tests, that's not my concern. Education is my job and I have a professional responsibility to educate. I'm not going to compromise education because some employer on the outside wants me to rank students for them." - Professor Rancourt