When does school start jordan19 Academics 5 08-21-2010 09:18 PM
When do Labs start? Allan Academics 2 12-30-2008 11:57 PM
Looking To Start A Club? Chad MacInsiders Announcements 0 10-27-2008 01:36 AM

when to start looking

Old 03-17-2011 at 08:20 PM   #1
lifesciman1

Liked: 59 Times

when to start looking
Next year will be my first year at university and me and 4 friends have decided to get a place off campus to save money. When should I start looking..im new to this process? What is a good price...so I dont get ripped off? Also do the owners of these places generally allow 2 people to stay in one room? because we dont really mind, we want to get a 2 bedroom place and share the rooms. Im most likely going to come there to sleep anyways. And one more thing... apartment or house? what are the pros/cons?
Old 03-17-2011 at 08:22 PM   #2
Chandlerowns

Liked: 67 Times

Stay on res first year, don't you want to meet new people? I'd die if I had to spend four more years with the same people!
Old 03-17-2011 at 08:35 PM   #3
lifesciman1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chandlerowns View Post
Stay on res first year, don't you want to meet new people? I'd die if I had to spend four more years with the same people!
I can save $5000 by staying off campus...its like 5mins away from the school.
Old 03-17-2011 at 08:40 PM   #4
Mickel

Liked: 12 Times

You should start looking right now. In fact, you should have started several months ago if you're looking for a group.

There is a pretty big price range depending on how nice and big you want your house/room to be. Typically the cheaper places are $250/month for a room, and it goes up from there and tops out around $600/month. I doubt you'll find any landlord willing to let you go two per room.

danallan likes this.
Old 03-17-2011 at 08:44 PM   #5
PHLN
Oink! Oink! Oink! Oink!

Liked: 506 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chandlerowns View Post