MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arts and Science vs. Health Science? ktc11 First-Year / Prospective Student Questions 5 05-18-2010 08:40 AM
Transfering from ArtSci to Health Sci wcspc Academics 8 04-08-2010 01:15 AM
Health Science Katelyn999 General Discussion 6 10-24-2009 02:27 PM
Transfering to Health Science suhaybh Academics 10 06-14-2009 03:29 PM
health science rakib Academics 5 05-12-2008 10:55 PM

Transfering into Mcmaster health Science

Old 10-31-2009 at 10:49 AM   #1
offlimits

Liked: 0 Times

Transfering into Mcmaster health Science
Hello,

I am currently a student at Western who is interested in transferring into the Mcmaster health science program this year. I was wondering if anyone on these forums who is a current transfer student could provide me with additional information.

What criteria do they base this admission on?
Do they tend to accept more people from their own university before looking at other unis?
What percent average should I be aiming for to have a very good shot of getting into this program?
Do they still consider high school marks?
Do they look at your EC's?
And do they contact the references you provided them with?
What is the general type of student who get accepted as a transfer?

The curriculum for biomedical science is alot more rigourous than the life science program in first year, thus does mcmaster take that into consideration when make admission decisions.

Any help would be appreciated,
Thanks
Old 10-31-2009 at 11:39 AM   #2
FireDragoonX
Elite Member

Liked: 142 Times

grades and your supplementary app. they look at both. But you need a good supp. app to have a good chance.
I think they look at all applications equally. not sure.
a very good shot? 90+, a good shot: 80+. impossible <70
no high school marks.
no EC's, unless you write about it in your supplementary app.
I have no idea. doubt it.
One with good grades and a great supplementary app.