MacInsiders Logo

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You'll be seeing red when you pick your English courses Twelve Chars Academics 20 05-30-2011 03:58 PM
English Courses Not Offered Alchemist11 Academics 3 06-08-2010 11:45 PM
Wondering about english courses (2C/E/F03) H.Abbas Academics 10 06-20-2009 12:20 AM
Easy english courses? hans23 Academics 6 06-04-2009 02:24 PM
More info about English courses? leah.d Academics 11 08-03-2008 08:36 PM

Which English courses should I take...

Old 11-27-2011 at 12:35 AM   #1
guptas46

Liked: 9 Times

Which English courses should I take...
I'm really not good at humanities/english but I'm gonna have to take a full year of English.

Any info on these courses:

English 1CS3 (Studying Culture) , 1A03/AA3 (short/long genres)
English 2J03 (popular culture), 3S03 (biblical traditions in lit)

any other recommendations for a science student? ()
Old 11-27-2011 at 10:33 AM   #2
IqzFendi

Liked: 41 Times

I'm a science student and I'm going for 1A03, only taking one The reviews for it seem better than 1AA3 and just the fact that it's shorter genres which I always found easier in school.

Also, 1CS3 sounds really interesting! Take what you're interested in so that you'll have the motivation to do well in it!
Old 11-27-2011 at 10:49 AM   #3
lizziepizzie
aka Mrs. Henry Cavill

Liked: 423 Times

I've taken all three 1st year English classes, and must say that if you're going for the lightest workload, that would definitely be Shorter Genres. All the texts are either poems or short stories; beware, though: you must keep up with your reading. You'll only spend one (or two max) lecture(s) per text so if you miss a reading, you'll get really behind. But you realls only have to do about 20 minutes of reading for each class.

1CS3 (Intro To Culture Studies) is a very interesting course, but you have to be able to think outside your box. It's not a typical English class.